Kaplan Class begins and a Tuesday Tip

Kaplan class began last night and I was pretty excited to get into it. A lot of the stuff in the beginning of class (orientation) was review for me, so I didn’t get much out of it, but the enthusiasm of my teacher was a breath of fresh air. He has a very engaging teaching style, which keeps everyone involved and the class very interactive. I learn best when doing something and catching my mistakes, so his style suits me pretty well. He is also very accessible, so I stayed after class to have a chat with him. I asked him what he thought the best way forward for me was because I have already taken the Kaplan course and doing the same thing would not lead to any improvement in my score. He told me 2 things which I thought were pretty helpful, hence the Tuesday Tip.

#1 – Record all mistakes from all problems that are attempted in a notebook  (This isn’t the helpful part to me because I knew to try that). The most important part he said was how to study those mistakes. He told me that I should review all the mistakes that day and then try to recall what the mistakes were the following day. The reasoning behind this is that on test day you will not have the luxury of that notebook, so studying and forgetting the mistakes doesn’t help anyone. If you remember them off the top of your head, then you have a greater chance to recall that mistake during the actual GMAT.

#2 – This is much less important, but I thought it was helpful enough to include in this segment. He told me that I should certainly take the 2 MBA.com CAT tests. The reason one should take these is that Kaplan’s tests are calibrated to try and reflect how one would score on a GMAT, but it isn’t perfect all the time. The MBA.com test is much more like the real test, in wording and question types.

None of these are earth shattering developments for me, but I think it’s pretty damn good for me to recall these at 7:50 a.m. on a Tuesday. Hope everyone’s studying/applications/procrastination is going well. Back later today with more stuff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

