MBA Job Tip (Sarcasm to follow)

This is absolute gold from Dealbreaker…I hope you all read Dealbreaker because if you don’t, you should. As a self-described Wall Street tabloid, please don’t take them reporting anything as “news,” it should be taken with a grain of salt and is usually good for a laugh to get you through the day.

Business Schools Offer Students Hot Job Seeking Tips

Posted by Bess Levin, Aug 17, 2009, 1:40pm

Actually it’s just one tip but if used wisely should be all you need. It’s really only intended to be shared with MBA-candidates who paid the privilege but for a limited-time only it’s being passed on to even the peasants among us. Here it comes. Tell me if you’re ready. Are you ready? Are you ready for the noise? Are you ready for the thunda? Are you ready to have the artist known as your soon to be formerly unemployed ass rocked? ‘Cause I’m laying this on you, NOW: beg your parents to get you a job. Boom. Done. Set for life.

Do mom and dad not have anything to offer in the way of a paycheck? All is not lost. After severing ties with those worthless pricks, devote all energy to S’ing the D’s of distant relatives and/or your more well-connected friends’ parents.

So far, Elon has forged alliances with major finance powerhouses and boutiques alike. The school’s executive director of career services, Tom Vecchione, says he often advises students not to shy away from tangential family contacts. “Hey, maybe you know Billy,” he tells them. “But do you know what Billy’s dad does?”

Hope this was helpful.

Weekend Rewind

This weekend was one of relaxation, studying, and essays. I did not take the usual trek to the shore this weekend, as I wanted to concentrate on taking a practice test and preparing a second of my essays.

Practice Test

This was my first Veritas Practice Test, so I was excited to see how it compared to Kaplan. I would say that the format was pretty much the same, but there were a few small differences. For one, I felt as though the Veritas program worked better than the Kaplan program. While using the Kaplan program, the interface would freeze for 15-20 seconds or so before moving onto the next question. Although this didn’t happen every time, it did happen enough for me to notice a difference. The one knock that I have on Veritas was that it did not save my results after I viewed them…no clue why, but it would have been nice to go back and see exactly what I got wrong. Maybe it was something with my computer, but I never had that problem with Kaplan.

The test results were promising, as I got a 670, which broke me out of a funk that saw me consistently getting 620s on exams. My breakdown was 42Q and 43V. That is a very good verbal score, but my quant needs to be higher (what else is new?!?). The reason that I am not as concerned with this as I normally would be is because my tutor and I have only scratched the surface of Quant and that is going to be the focus when he returns from his vacation. That should leave me with quite a bit of time to work on my Quant, while trying to maintain my Verbal score.

Essay #2

NYU Stern’s Essay #2 was my project for Sunday and I sketched out exactly what I would like to convey and in what order I want to convey my points. The only thing left is to actually type the essay, which is on the docket for tonight. This would leave me with only one more NYU essay to do, which should be done by Wednesday or Thursday, leaving me the weekend, Monday & Tuesday to do my Cornell essays. I left the Cornell essays until last because I wanted to focus more attention on my NYU essays and I regarded the Cornell ones, as slightly easier to deal with (not that they are easy, but relatively so).

I hope everyone had a good weekend! Mondays suck………………..

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.