Work Stuff & The Souls @ The Pony…

For the last week I have been like a lost puppy searching for my owner and wandering aimlessly through the day. I have finished all my projects at work and with none on the horizon, it has become like a Wild West Ghost Town at my desk. It didn’t used to be like this…I used to be inundated with requests to open new broker accounts that I had to analyze and write a report on, but since the financial crisis that has slowed to a halt. The brokers aren’t trading as much as they used to and that means less new accounts for me to work on. Pretty soon I am going to have to start coming up with new projects to justify receiving a check on the 15th and 30th…The problem with that is my department’s budget has been cut pretty badly, so their isn’t much cash going towards projects these days. Not a good situation. These are the times when bosses start looking around and seeing if they really need all the people they have.

About a week ago, my boss pulled me aside and told me that he wanted to hire some junior people for our group and put me in charge of them! I was pretty excited about it, as it would give me some managerial responsibilities and a leadership role. I found out yesterday that management put a deep freeze on hiring, so that isn’t going to happen for a while (if ever). Needless to say, I was bummed out about that, but I suppose all things happen for a reason.

Enough of my depressing work speak! One of my favorite things of the year is coming up, and of course I am talking about seeing the Bouncing Souls at the Stony Pony in Asbury Park, NJ. Every year these guys go to “The Pony” and play 4 post-Christmas shows. My brother and I usually try to make it to one of them. We are usually hot sweaty messes by the time we leave, but it is a great time and they put on a great live show. Pre-Sale is on now, so if you are in the Jersey area and enjoy the Souls, it is a can’t miss!

I have a wedding to attend tomorrow, so no posts, sorry. Isn’t waiting to hear about an admissions decision fun????

2 Responses

  1. [...] Visit 2012 MBA Applicant for more. var addthis_pub = ''; var addthis_language = 'en';var addthis_options = 'email, favorites, digg, delicious, buzz, mixx, reddit, bitly, facebook, twitter, google, more'; [...]

  2. [...] the full article: Work Stuff & The Souls @ The Pony… AKPC_IDS += [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

