Johnson Rewind…

I went to the Johnson information session last night and decided to give you the low-down on what happened, so without further adieu, I give you, THE REWIND…

If any of you read my blog regularly, then you will now that I am habitually early, so true to form I showed up at the 6 o’clock event at 5:30. Not to worry though because my neurosis was also shared by fellow blogger XLick, who showed up around the same time. We met in the lobby and started talking about all things work and MBA related. It was the first time we had met and it was good to talk with someone who is going through the same process. No one was in the room yet, so we hung downstairs until about 5:50 and made our way upstairs. I am terrible with estimating these things, but I would say that there were 75-100 people there, so the turn-out was pretty good. The first 1/2 hour was what you would expect from one of these events (hand passed appetizers, drinks, and mingling).

After that, we took our seats and listened to four Johnson alumni and Randall Sawyer, the excellent Assistant Dean of Admissions for the Johnson School. Said it before and I will say it again, if you think you might want to go to Johnson, go and see Randall speak and he will “close the deal.” He is very engaging and you can tell that he really believes in the product that he is selling. As I have been to these events before, I don’t think I learned anything new, but I did take this opportunity to speak with Randall. I asked him about my low GPA (2.9), upward trending though it may be, and he assuaged my fears about such things. He told me that undergrad GPA was the thing that gets looked at last. This obviously made me feel a whole lot better about myself and my chances. He also told me that he hoped to see me up at campus for an interview. I agreed and told him that I would want to have a cup of coffee with him when I was up there. He was really excited about that and seemed into the idea. Hope I get the chance to deliver on that offer!

After the event XLick and I walked to the subway and took the V (maybe it was the F) downtown to 34th street where I got off and headed back to the PATH, Jersey bound. XLick was a great guy, and we definitely need to hang out again (budding bromance?!?). Speaking of him, he has a much better recap of the night than I put together, so just go and read his. Best of luck to him and to the rest of you on your applications/interviews. One last thing of note from the night was that Randall told us that the committee is through alomst all of R1 applicants and have just now started to look at R2, so don’t be alarmed if you haven’t heard anything yet from Johnson.

4 Responses

  1. [...] the full article: Johnson Rewind… AKPC_IDS += "5640,"; Share this [...]

  2. [...] went to a NYC Johnson information session and had a nice interaction with the school’s assistant dean. Steve wasn’t the only one at the session, he ran into XClick, who, hearing about [...]

  3. [...] went to a NYC Johnson information session and had a nice interaction with the school’s assistant dean. Steve wasn’t the only one at the session, he ran into XClick, who, hearing about [...]

  4. haha..budding bromance indeed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

