Waiting…

I will re-count the exploits of the polar bear plunge later, but for now we get to my Cornell decision….It is rather appropriate that my fiancée and I watched the movie “Waiting” this weekend (eh, it was ok, kind of funny if you have ever worked in a restaurant, but not an epic movie to be sure.) because I just got the word: I am waitlisted…(cue the horn, “wah, wah, wah”)I said that a waitlist would be the worst thing ever because I am not exactly a patient person and the though of waiting until August for a possible admit is too much for my little heart to take.

After being waitlisted…its not all that bad. I was reading a waitlisted chat with Randall Sawyer and he stated that Johnson does give feedback about how to strengthen your application. At least it won’t be radio silence for the next few months. I would imagine that I should start looking into signing up for an online course of some quantitative nature. Until that time, “I’ll be sitting, waiting, wishing…” (Yuck, Jack Johnson…I am disgusted with myself for even posting that)

9 Responses

  1. I know EXACTLY how you feel Steve. Drink one for all your Waitlisters out there.

  2. [...] the full article: Waiting… AKPC_IDS += "7025,"; Share this [...]

  3. hey steve,

    dont be sad dude.I know its lil bad but u can always improve ur candidacy in the given time and i m pretty sure that it will convert into an admit.
    By the way did you received my email which i sent to you on ur email id.

    Let me know.

    thanks

  4. Hey Steve,

    A waitlist is not a bad news. Just hang in there and keep your eyes and ears open for anything that would improve your candidacy!

    All the best
    Hari

  5. Much better than a ding! Do what you can to improve your app and try to stay positive :). Time passes so fast that you’ll be in before you know it ;).

  6. wait-list can be frustrating but it also means there is hope! Depend on the school’s policy, you might want to strengthen your candidacy and show commitment through some updates. Hope good news will come soon!

  7. Thanks to everyone who posted their thoughts. Hopefully I can be one of the lucky ones to get an admit off the waiting list. I am researching things I can do to improve my candidacy. Thanks again!

    Ashish – sorry, I haven’t checked my mail recently. i will get back to you ASAP.

  8. Good luck with your decision Steve.

  9. [...] Hi there, and welcome to Fridays From the Frontline, Clear Admit’s weekly blog post focused on the events of the MBA blogosphere. This week MBA hopefuls were sharing their good and bad news, from interview invites to admittances. Current students were deep in their current semester and enjoying a number of personal and professional development opportunities. Dream Chaser enjoyed his day at Kellogg, happily announced his interview invite from Harvard, and managed to stay humble.  While Rocky was disappointed with LBS’ general feedback to zapped candidates, he was happy to receive an interview invite from Anderson. Hari looked back on each stage of his MBA application process and thanked Clear Admit for providing helpful resources throughout. As a waitlisted round one applicant, MBA Hopeful took advantage of Haas’ opportunity to enhance his candidacy by visiting the school and being interviewed. Madalogue created an RSS feed for all Haas-related news that might be of use to other interested applicants. AJ continued to wait for application news, and considered taking the GMAT again. Nistha shared some of the details of his off-campus Kellogg interview. XLick prepared for his upcoming Cornell interview, and credited Clear Admit’s Wiki for helping him in this regard. A Beautiful Mind took a look at Clear Admit’s Consulting Career Guide, and received a wait-list notification from Cornell. Steve also received waitlist news from Cornell, and wasn’t looking forward to all the waiting. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

