Good or Bad & Weekend Plans

Bloomberg Businessweek has an article talking about how applications to some top B-Schools were down last year. It points out that applications to Cornell were down 12% last year from the recession high of the year prior. So the question I ask myself is…is this a good thing or a bad thing. Let’s discuss:

1. It is good:

This is a good thing for me and other future applicants because if the total number of students applying is down, then the acceptance rates should be higher. You can also say that the next application cycle should see applications fall even more, as the job market firms up, and in some instances, like Financial Services), actually is doing quite well. I got on the wait-list this year, which means that they would have admitted me this year if they had a spot open up. With a further decreased applicant pool, this may turn into an admit.

2. It is bad:

I didn’t get in last year and applications were down 12%! I suck! I’m a failure, oh woah is me…ok, got that out of my system. But seriously, it isn’t a very good sign that in a depleted applicant pool I didn’t get into Cornell. After numbers like these Cornell may double its efforts to recruit people to the school, which might actually increase the applicant pool this year.

It could really go either way…although it seems I have a more plausible scenario laid out in the “Good” section, I can’t really get over the first point in the bad (not getting in, in a smaller applicant pool).

Weekend Plans

So if you were a reader of my previous blog entries you might remember that I was a big fan of the NY Red Bulls (soccer team for those not in the know). The problem was that the Red Bulls were historically bad last year…I mean the soccer team I played on when I was 6 could have beat them. That team pretty much just packed into a little scrum around the ball and kicked each other in the shins (at least we stayed compact at the back), but I am pretty sure that we could have found a way around the Red Bulls defense last year. This year is a totally different story. We have a new coach, a new GM, a new stadium, two very important new players, and we are currently in 2nd place in the Eastern Conference.

With that being said, my weekend is going to kick off with a monster of a game between the NY Red Bulls and the LA Galaxy (sans David Beckham <– he is hurt). It is going to be a sell out (25,00 people) crowd on Saturday night, so Red Bull Arena should be rocking. My dad, brother, sister, and wife are all coming, so it should be a great time.

On Sunday I am running in a 5k inside Yankee Stadium. The 5k is going to benefit cancer research. You can check the website out here, so that you might be able to do this next year (sold out this year). I will let you know how it is, but I know it is going to be really hard because the course consists of 268 stairs! Are you shitting me? I am not exactly a finely tuned athlete, but I can run in the occasional 5k or 5 mile race. I usually look like death when I finish, but it is because I push it pretty hard. I can’t even imagine running one and adding stairs into the mix…not going to be fun.

Have a great weekend everyone!

One Response

  1. [...] the full article: Good or Bad & Weekend Plans AKPC_IDS += "11102,"; Share this [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

