Groundhog Day & Weekend Rewind

With all due respect to Punxsutawney Phil, Staten Island Chuck, and any other shadow seeing rodents in the US, I am talking about the movie with Bill Murray. In the movie, Bill Murray keeps waking up to the same day. It didn’t matter what he did or if he died during the course of that day, he would still wake up to the weather report on the radio in the morning. That is pretty much how I felt this weekend. I took my practice test and thought that I did terrible on Quant and very well on Verbal. When I clicked the submit button, the score read 700, with a 45 Q and a 40 V. The exact same score I had received last week. At first I thought that this was an error because I didn’t feel like I could have/should have scored that high after the limited amount of studying I did during the week. After logging out and logging back into the test section, it indeed showed that same score. I was very happy with it, and it is somewhat validating to know that I can post two 700 scores in back to back weeks, even though my studying wasn’t what it should have been. This gives me confidence that moving forward I can increase these scores, especially quant, as I felt that I was guessing quite a bit (although most were educated guesses).

After taking the test, I relaxed for most of Sunday. I cooked a little bit…my first venture into making polenta. It has an interesting consistency, but once I drowned it with a sausage-tomato sauce the dish turned out pretty well. I also FINALLY got around to writing a first draft of the first Columbia essay. I am sending it to my reviewer tomorrow and then will hope to do 2 more revisions before sending in the application.  I am going to start working on revising and editing my Cornell essays this week. At some point I also have to write the re-application essay, which shouldn’t be that hard of an essay, as I have quite a bit to write about. I am already looking forward to essay writing being completed, and I haven’t even really started yet!

In sports news:

Yankees are tied for first, Fulham tied Blackpool (disappointing result, but glad to get a point after how the game played out), and the Red Bulls smacked San Jose 2-0. A good sports weekend for my teams, save for Donovan McNabb’s injury for the Redskins. Hopefully he can be back for the first game of the season.

Hope everyone had a great weekend…

One Response

  1. [...] high for GMAT exams while first year and returning students begin to adjust to school life. Steve took another GMAT practice test and found that he scored pretty consistently, even without as much strenuous study. Ellipser prepared to attend Tuck, NYU and Ross events in the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

