Ooops I did it again!

I had been doing well recently with my studying and my practice tests. I had been scoring 700, with my quant score  around 45 and my verbal score around 40. Since I scored a 48 on the real GMAT I figured that I should study a little more quant than verbal last week to try and bump my quant score nearer to 48. That part worked, somewhat, with a score of 46 for this weekend. The problem was that I ended up neglecting verbal, like I always do. i don’t know why I always do this, or how I get stuck in that trap, but I always loose track of verbal studying. I scored a 34 on verbal this weekend….giving me a 660 on my most recent practice test. My verbal feel hard, and I am going to have to see what I messed up on and then try to rectify those mistakes before test day, which is rapidly approaching!

Speaking of coming up quickly, application day is screaming like a freight train towards me and I don’t know if I am going to be able to finish my Yale application in time. I will certainly have time for more revisions on my Cornell and Columbia apps, but Yale has quite a few essays and I think I might need to scrap Yale R1 in order to concentrate on making Cornell and Columbia the best that they can be. It shouldn’t be that big of a deal, as conventional wisdom seems to indicate that R1 vs. R2 doesn’t really matter that much, unless R1 is ED or EA. I set myself for a hectic week to start October, as I have my GMAT on Oct. 2nd…then Cornell is due the 5th, and then Columbia the 6th! I should have Columbia done the week prior, but you know how these things tend to go (I can just picture myself hitting submit at 11:59 pm on the 6th!)…

Other than the GMAT/application happenings, the Red Bulls won, Notre Dame lost (kick the field goal Brain, kick the field goal), the Yankees slipped into a virtual tie with Tampa, and the Redskins somehow defeated the Cowgirls. A middling weekend, with middling weather. Hopefully this week can start out on a good note, verbal….here I come!

2 Responses

  1. [...] strategies and GMAT setbacks. Steve struggled to keep his GMAT practice results consistent and decided to push his Yale application to round 2. Ellipser wrote about the reluctance he had to actually press the submit button on his Tuck [...]

  2. Neglecting the Verbal part of the test is a common problem. People are more conscious of their math weaknesses than they are of their weaknesses in language; they figure they speak English, so they’re all right there; but hard math scares everyone. It’s a big mistake though, because doing very well on the Verbal portion of the test appears to boost your overall score more than a comparable Quant score would.

    One thing about practice tests — they’re not always that reliable if they’re not actually GMAC tests. This should be borne in mind.

    H. Silverman
    Silverman GMAT Prep
    http://www.GmatPrepTutor.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

