I’m still at work????

How can this be? Well while most of my company has left because we are mainly a bond brokerage house, we have a small equities desk, and as a risk manager, I have drawn the short straw and I am staying until 4pm, ouch! This article was a little pick me up though. It is an article about the various graduation day speakers at top MBA programs. Just reading about who these people are listening to gets me excited. I also think the message that business schools are conveying by changing the types of speakers they have is a necessary step. Business schools, colleges, and the financial community in general put too much an emphasis on creating shareholder value, which led to short term goals and misaligned compensations with performance.

A lot of people look at me funny when I tell them that I am investing in my future by going back to school and that I intend to work in the financial sector after getting out. Most tell me that the compensation of the past few years will never return and Wall Street will never be what it once was. I am fine with that, I am not going to Wall Street because of the compensation (although if someone wants to pay me millions of dollars, I suppose I could put my Wall Street dreams off for a bit), instead I am going for the challenge and my love of the stock market. No other job tests its participants more often than the stock market. Every trade that is executed will typically have a winner and a loser. (ex. you sell and the stock goes higher, loser!) This forces you to be at your best at all times. You won’t always be right, but what you learn from being wrong will only help you in the future.

Congrats to all the grads who are venturing to Wall Street this year (or trying to), follow your dreams, not the compensation and all with work itself out in the end. Happy Memorial Day!

Leave a Reply

