Clear Admit School Guides and weekend plans…

Clear Admit was kind enough to send an NYU school guide my way, for which I thank them immensely. I figured that I would write a review of the guide, so that if some of you are looking at buying one, this might help push you in a certain direction.

I was pretty interested to read this because I have been to Stern and I have sat in on 2-3 presentations by the adcoms and alumni. I wanted to see how accurately the guide would portray what I knew/learned about Stern. I would say that overall the guide does a great job of introducing you to the program and life at Stern.

I might not have been the best person to receive this guide because at this point I am bordering on obsession when it comes to NYU. I don’t think that I have gone as far off the deep end as Xlick has about Columbia (just kidding, not really, you know you are obsessed!), but I think I am right behind him. Most of the stuff in there was a review for me, but what is great about the guide is that it puts everything in one place for me to look at. There were things that I knew about NYU, but had stored in the back recesses of my brain that this guide once again brought to the forefront. The layout of the document is very logical as it flows from general to more specific information (layout below).

The document flows like this:

1. Intro

2. Academics

3. Special Programs

4. Part-Time Langone Program

5. Life at Stern

6. Life After Stern

7. Admissions

8. Financing the Stern MBA

9. Further Resources

In summation, I would definitely recommend the school guide to anyone who has yet to visit a school to which they are applying. I would still recommend it to someone who has been to visit the school, but it isn’t a must have because a lot of the information is given to you when you visit.

Weekend Plans

My family is coming to visit this weekend, making the trek up the NJ Turnpike from South Jersey. They are coming like plagues of locust, to try and nail down a place for the rehearsal dinner for my wedding. In all honesty, this is one of the few enjoyable parts of planning a wedding (unless my fiance is reading this, and then the entire experience has been fabulous honey!) because it involves food and if that is the case, I am always game.

On the MBA side of the weekend I am going to take a practice test and study more (imagine that). I have 3 weeks until the test and this is hardcore crunch time. Whatever life I had will go out the window and like an ancient druid I will sit in my apartment copying GMAT formulas and rules over and over under my hands bleed. That might be a slight hyperbolization (apparently not a word, but it should be!), but I think you get the point…I am going to work hard to finish this off.

Hope everyone has a great weekend and may all your GMATs be an 800!

6 Responses

  1. […] the full article: Clear Admit School Guides and weekend plans… AKPC_IDS += […]

  2. haha S. Where is the luv? : )
    ClearAdmit sent me a guide too, but for Columbia. Most of it was stuff I already knew. But it is somewhat helpful – as you said for review sake.

  3. Nothing but love…

    Enjoy the lovely weather we are supposed to have and best of luck with Columbia!

  4. […] shared his thoughts about Clear Admit’s NYU Stern School Guide, ate sushi in New York and found the perfect wedding rehearsal dinner spot. Bizwiz concluded his […]

  5. […] shared his thoughts about Clear Admit’s NYU Stern School Guide, ate sushi in New York and found the perfect wedding rehearsal dinner spot. Bizwiz concluded his […]

  6. […] shared his thoughts about Clear Admit’s NYU Stern School Guide, ate sushi in New York and found the perfect wedding rehearsal dinner spot. Bizwiz concluded his […]

Leave a Reply

