Thursday Rewind (Veritas Edition)

I had to push back my final tutoring session because JB had a conflict with our normal Wednesday schedule, hence the late rewind…

Tutoring

Parting is such sweet sorrow…And so it was that JB and I had our last two sessions together. There were tears and hugs and promises in the night…not really but it was pretty close. With the last week of tutoring upon us, we decided that we would work on some of the higher level quant items (combinations, probabilities, and permutations) and re-enforce the only verbal item that still gives me trouble, sentence correction.

The quant items were pretty hard, I still have trouble distinguishing combination from permutation (DOES ORDER MATTER, I DON’T KNOW!!!!!!), but I think with some practice and possibly some voodoo I can get some of those questions right. I continue to work of my pacing throughout the test because I tend to want to rush through things, or in the case of the verbal section I have a lot of time left ( <10 minutes). By trying to even out my pace, JB and I feel as though I can avoid the careless mistakes that seem to be tripping me up. In reviewing my previous test I noticed that I get around 3-4 questions wrong because of stupid mistakes, or solving for the wrong thing. These questions are probably the difference between the 700 level and my current score of 680. The next two weeks are vitally important for me to continue the momentum I have built up. The holiday weekend give me an extra day to study, so that should help me.

The last thing we discussed was the test day routine. There were a few important things that JB told me I should be doing. The obvious ones were going to bed early, eating something before you go to the testing center, and taking care of any bathroom needs that might arise. The one tid bit I found very helpful was that I should do a handful of problems that morning of the test. He cited a few studies that people get a disproportional amount of questions wrong on the first part of the test because their brains are not functioning at full capacity yet. The most important part of the exercise though is to not look at the answers, unless you are SUPREMELY confident that you got the answer correct. Confidence is a large part of the testing experience and killing your confidence by getting some questions wrong a few hours before is a recipe for disaster.

Consulting

Not much on the consulting front this week, but this weekend should give me time to work on my essays further. Version 2 of all the essays is scheduled to be delivered to Yoda on the 9th, so I need to get working on those.

Other than that I can say that my mid-year performance review is coming up either tomorrow or next week, so some nerves are being expended on that. I will have all of the horrifying details for you when I get it…on the bright side maybe I will finally have an answer for the question, “what is the toughest criticism you have ever received and what did you learn?”

Have a wonderful Thursday and the Holiday weekend is almost here!

3 Responses

  1. […] the full article: Thursday Rewind (Veritas Edition) AKPC_IDS += […]

  2. […] 2012 MBA Applicant posted recently that thanks to an upcoming employment review he will have material for the question, “What is the toughest criticism you have ever received and what did you learn?” While we’re glad that  2012 MBA Applicant has material, I thought you (and maybe even 2012 MBA Applicant) may want tips on how to answer that and similar questions. […]

  3. […] 2012 MBA Applicant posted recently that thanks to an upcoming employment review he will have material for the question, “What is the toughest criticism you have ever received and what did you learn?” While we’re glad that  2012 MBA Applicant has material, I thought you (and maybe even 2012 MBA Applicant) may want tips on how to answer that and similar questions. […]

Leave a Reply

