A fungus among us…

Yesterday I had a creeping sense of dread, like something bad was about to happen, but I couldn’t put my finger on exactly what it was. When my fiance arrived home excited (not to see me) about something, I knew that something was amiss. What could it be though? Monday night is usually reserved for football, so I didn’t think too much of it. That was of course until 9:00pm rolled around. Then it hit me. Like Keanu Reeves in the Matrix, I just knew something was wrong. Something was terribly wrong…As my fiance comes bounding into the family room, in a heightened s frenzy, I immediately know what is about to occur. Before I know it, the remote control is taken from me and my night of studying and then watching football has been ruined by this fungus that seems to be spreading like wildfire.

I would like to think that I am a pretty reasonable person and that even though it might not be my thing I can appreciate most “girly” shows and movies. If they are well done, they can be one of my favorite movies of all time (like Shakespeare in Love), but if done poorly, nothing can be more painful to sit through. This fungus falls into the last category for me…I just don’t get it! On some level I suppose I do, it is about rich people and love, so that isn’t too far fetched. But when something is sooooooooo over dramatized (notice my overly dramatized “so”, for ironic purposes) how can people take it seriously? How can they watch it and say, “this is a great show, with good acting and believable story lines, and wonderful character development!” How?

This show is so heinous that I think if they performed studies, it would be shown to mildly reduce the intelligence of those watching it. (Slightly harsh, but I base this mostly on the glassy look of my fiance eyes during the show, coupled with her drool I have to clean up during commercial breaks) The show I am talking about is obviously Gossip Girl, which made its long awaited (dripping with sarcasm) season debut last night. In my argument against this show I leave you with the only evidence I need, a clip. Look at how “Chuck Bass” is dressed in this video. Reminder, he is in high school at this point. I must have missed the “I just walked off my sail boat in the 1950s period of high school fashion.” My biggest problem is the acting…really bad. So without further adieu, I present, Gossip Girl:

XOXO

8 Responses

  1. […] the full article: A fungus among us… AKPC_IDS += […]

  2. […] was officially not a fan of Gossip Girl and explained why he felt that a two year MBA program was best for him. XLick prepped for his […]

  3. […] was officially not a fan of Gossip Girl and explained why he felt that a two year MBA program was best for him. XLick prepped for his […]

  4. […] was officially not a fan of Gossip Girl and explained why he felt that a two year MBA program was best for him. XLick prepped for his […]

  5. […] was officially not a fan of Gossip Girl and explained why he felt that a two year MBA program was best for him. XLick prepped for his […]

  6. Ohh dont be harsh….I love Gossip Girl!…its just so wicked.

    XOXO

  7. While you might enjoy it, you can’t deny that the show is overly dramatic. My fiance’s eyes do glaze over and she has been known to drool when the show comes on, so I have a jaded perspective when it comes to this.

    BTW…how do you like Rochester?

Leave a Reply

