Final Countdown

So we’ve come to the end of our story and everyone is dead from AIDS….oh wait, that’s this clip, not my story

But I have come to the end of my GMAT Prep and tomorrow is the big day. I know going in that I have a 680, no matter what, so that calms the nerves and lets me swing for the fences. I take the test at 8am in Lyndhurst, NJ (The Swamps) because I seem to test better in the early morning. If you haven’t tried to vary when you take your practice tests, I would highly recommend it because my scores change by about 60 points, depending on when I tak the test. I have no idea why this is, but it just is.

I figure that Saturday night will be a cause for celebrating, no matter what. Either I broke 700 and all of my hard work paid off, or I will be drinking my sorrows away (No better way to feel better than by taking it out on your body!). Confidence plays a big part on test day and I am going to walk in very confidently. I typically listen to some music before taking big tests, a thing I picked up from my dad. This was the song that he listened to before taking tests:

I don’t have one go to song, but I know that this song will be a part of it (All Hail the 80s!):

I am going to get a good night’s sleep, wake up early tomorrow, eat some breakfast, do one problem from each section of the GMAT (not looking at the answers, it’s just to warm up my brain), and then be on my way. Last time I arrived at 7:20 for an 8:00am exam (told you I was always early) and the center didn’t even open the doors until 7:30. I got the 2nd or 3rd number and got to start my test by 7:45. I am shooting for the same time frame this time around. I want to get out of there before lunchtime hunger sets in. Reading some other blog out there it seems like there are a few of us taking the GMAT this weekend, so good luck to everyone, see you on the other side!

4 Responses

  1. […] the full article: Final Countdown AKPC_IDS += […]

  2. Good luck man! Bring some snacks along with you for brain energy.

  3. Ko – I have never seen that video. Thank you, thank you, thank you. One of the finest I have ever seen. I mean I am 33 seconds into this thing and I have seen a leopard, a panther, and they are in a cave, what more can i ask for. It rivals this one, which I didn’t think could ever be beat. (The end is the payoff)

    Xlick – as always buddy, thanks. Great to hear that you nailed the Columbia interview.

Leave a Reply

