Under Review, Under the Gun, & a Day Off

Got this yesterday:

Steven,

 

The Johnson School Admissions Office received all required documents for your application to our MBA program. We appreciate your patience as we review your application materials. We review each application twice before offering invitations to interview or providing final decisions.

If an important update occurs during the review process, feel free to send an email update to CHANGED TO PROTECT THE INNOCENT. We look forward to reviewing your materials.

Sincerely,

The Johnson School Admissions Team

The Johnson School at Cornell University • Office of Admissions, Financial Aid and Inclusion
111 Sage Hall • Ithaca, NY 14853-6201 • Telephone: 607-255-4526 • Fax: 607-255-0065

Obviously Cornell has finally pulled all of my info together and started the review process. I figure that 6-8 weeks from now should be enough time for them to ask me to interview (hopefully) and then make a decision. That would put me at the start of 2010. Wouldn’t that be a great way to start the new year? I think it would.

Still nothing from Dartmouth, but I figured it would be a couple more weeks before I heard anything. I applied on the very last day, so my app was probably buried in a pile somewhere. The final deadline is December 18th, but I think I should hear something before that since I already had an interview. If it goes all the way to the 18th, I don’t like my chances. Let hope I hear something soon because I am starting to get a little itchy!

I am under the gun at work because regulators are coming in and we have to make sure the house in is order, I am under the gun with my application for NYU (only 5 days left!), and lastly I am under the gun for wedding planning. Work has been crazy busy and late nights are now the norm, but we have tomorrow off and that should be a nice reprieve from the madness. My NYU essays are in the trusty hands of my reviewer and should be back to me today for final FINAL (seriously final) revisions. Wedding planning was put to the side once I started the application process. This caused us to fall behind in our planning and we are now playing catch up. Limos and cakes and save the dates, oh my! There are so many little things that need to get done and not enough time in the day to do them.

As stated above, I have the day off tomorrow (Veteran’s Day), so I am going to NYU for a class visit. I am incredibly excited about the visit because the class I am going to is being taught by Nouriel Roubini. If you don’t know who he is, he is one of the economists that saw economic disaster on the horizon and tried to warn people about it. He is now a “talking head,” with regular appearances on CNBC. I am very intrigued to see what he is like as a professor and what type of classroom he runs. The class is on International Economics, hardly my forte, but I think I should be able to follow the gist of the talk. On another exciting note, I signed my fiancee up for the class visit as well, so she will be accompanying me throughout the day. It will be nice to have her perspective on the school and the students when finishing Essay #2, which talks about my Stern experience.

If you have the day off tomorrow, enjoy your first “Friday” of the week. If you have work tomorrow, it sucks to be you!

3 Responses

  1. […] the full article: Under Review, Under the Gun, & a Day Off AKPC_IDS += "5178,"; Share this […]

  2. Hey man,

    I applied on the last day at Tuck too (although was one of the first interviews) and am already eager to hear something, anything! from them. However, I had a couple conversations with current students last week who both told me to be patient. Everyone they could think of were called by the admissions office either deadline day or the day before with the news. Keep in mind the sample size, but try not to reach for your blackberry every 3 minutes on the dot. I know I am guilty of this.

    Good luck!

    • J,

      Thanks a lot for the advice and the reassurance that someone else feels like me. I guess we are going to have to strap ourselves in and wait for December 18th! Best of luck and thanks for reading!

      Steve

Leave a Reply

