Bait & Switch!!!!!!!

Lost in the long post I did yesterday was a little side excursion that occurred on the way home from Ithaca. My fiancée and I were driving home and decided to stop at the Woodbury Commons outlets, which are about 25 minutes outside of NYC. These are high-end outlets and they attract buyers from all over the world. The goal was to find a suit for me for our wedding in April. I figured that Danielle got herself a nice dress that she is only going to wear once, so why shouldn’t I get a nice suit for myself that I could wear every week?

The two best suit places at Woodbury are Armani and Zegna, so naturally this is where I started. Zegna only had 3-button suits in black, which I wasn’t thrilled with, so it was off to Armani. There we met a nice-old salesperson named Bob. I asked to try on a black 2-button and a black 3-button suit. I tried the 3-button on first to make sure that I didn’t want it…I hated it, so it was onto the 2-button. As I am putting the 2-button on, I ask how much. He says that, after the 50% off the suit is $840. That is a lot of money, but hey its my wedding day and I think the 2-button is exactly what I have been looking for. I put it on hold and think about it.

My fiancée and I decide that if this is what I want, I should get it, so I go back and ask the cashier to ring up the suit for me. At that time I get a call on my cell and I am talking to a friend about how happy I am that I am getting this suit. As the cashier rings it up, she says $1,500. Obviously I have either mis-heard her, or she has forgotten to take the 50% off the suit. My fiancée bring this mistake up to her and she checks again, and says $1,500. I stop my phone conversation and ask to see the price tag. $3,000 it says….that nice-old man Bob had allowed me to try on two suits, where one was double the price of the other and then only told me the price of the cheaper one. I got angry and just walked out. Huge disappointment and not a very good experience with Armani.

So if you are going to go shopping in the NY outlet scene, watch out for Bob because he just might be pulling the old bait and switch!