After this weekend I will be forever changed…

So this it….what I have been looking forward to ever since I started this whole process. It will either make me whole or I will melt away into oblivion. I am talking of course about the 2010 Polar Bear Plunge in Sea Isle City, NJ!!!!!!!! For those not familiar with “The Plunge,” it is about 3,000 people (usually heavily intoxicated) running into the ocean. Why? I have no idea, but it is a lot of fun! The process of becoming a “true polar bear” is participating in the event for 3 years in a row. This will be my 3rd year, and I couldn’t be happier! I finally get to step out of the shadow of cubhood and into the limelight reserved for a true polar bear! My brother will also be going through bear-if-ication with me, so I have a wing-man in the process.

Me praying that I get a call from Cornell on Monday!

The weather forecast is not exactly cooperating with us because the east coast has just gotten over two major storms in the last week, so the possibility of snow on the ground remains a good one. The temperature is going to be 34 degrees with partly cloudy skies….fine weather indeed to take The Plunge (although a few extra degrees never hurt anyone). I will certainly be providing pictures of my exploits upon my return, as I hope to have a special costume in place for the event, but the snow storm has delayed the shipping and now I don’t know if it will be possible.

There are two other exciting things going on in the next few days…the first is Valentine’s Day and the last, but certainly not least will be my Cornell decision. Danielle and I have an engagedment party to attend on Sunday, which is actually Valentine’s Day, so we are going to be celebrating on Monday. Since this coincides with my Cornell decision, it will be either the greatest V-Day ever, or the worst. Risky strategy, but that is how we have to play it. I have off of work on Monday for President’s Day and I think that will make the waiting for a phone call worse. I think Cornell’s admission staff should be in on Monday, but I am not really sure and I don’t have the cajones to call and ask them about it. So I am going to wait, and wait, and wait some more for a call…I hope everyone who is doing the same thing on Monday doesn’t have to wait long! Best of luck to everyone and I will see you on the flip side of the weekend!

7 Responses

  1. […] the full article: After this weekend I will be forever changed… AKPC_IDS += "6954,"; Share this […]

  2. have to say that’s the the weirdest “sports” event that I have ever heard….

    best of luck with v-day 🙂

  3. Not sure if it is really a “sporting event,” as the participants are not exactly finely tuned athletes, but when you brave that freezing water, you feel like a God among mere mortals (or really stupid for just having done that)

  4. […] had a risky Valentine’s Day plan: postpone it til Monday (the same day as Cornell’s notifications come out). A Beautiful Mind experienced technical difficulties during his Cornell phone interview and […]

  5. Hey man, I know exactly how the waiting period feels with the anxiety building up. I wish you the best of luck and hope to hear good things about V-Day. Until then, enjoy The Plunge!!

  6. Ha ha thats cool. Forgive my ignorance, but being in NJ for 5 yrs i’ve never known about this. But sounds like loads of fun!!

    All the best with the Cornell decision. I’m sure you’ll have the best Valentines day!! 🙂

  7. Hari,

    Not a problem about the ignorance. If you lived in the North Jersey area, I don’t think that they have it up there. This is a South Jersey/Philly thing. Congrats again on your admit!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

