The week that was…

So, you may or may not have noticed, but I took a week off from blogging. The reason behind this were two-fold: 1. I don’t really have much to write about these days and 2. I got a new project at work that takes up A LOT of my time. There were still some interesting things that happened…

1. I dislocated a joint in my jaw! Yowzer, did that guy hurt…In what has to be the most pathetic injury ever, I was sitting at my desk and I yawned. Next thing I know there is a loud pop and an explosion of pain in my jaw, somewhat by my ear. I was lucky because the jaw immediately slipped back into place, but it still hurt like hell. The doctor said there wasn’t that much he could do for me and wrote me a prescription for ibuprofen…thanks doc, couldn’t have just told me to take a shit-ton of Advil. Needless to say, I passed on picking that prescription up. I don’t recommend a dislocated jaw to anyone, not very pleasant!

2. I am becoming more and more frustrated with the Cornell waitlist process. When I received the waitlist letter it said that the school would provide feedback and I would be able to update my admissions manager with developments. Well, its kind of hard to update someone who doesn’t pick up the phone! I understand that these people are busy, but not returning an e-mail from me and not picking up once when I called is a little much…in talking with some other people, it seems that they are having the same problem. Hopefully, once the large R3 group gets interview invites, my admissions manager will be able to answer some of these questions.

3. Saw the movie Crazy Heart, with Jeff Bridges and it was pretty freakin’ fantastic. It is very much in the vein of “The Wrestler,” if anyone has seen that. I highly recommend it…

Hope everyone had a great snow-less weekend!

4 Responses

  1. […] the full article: The week that was… AKPC_IDS += "7243,"; Share this […]

  2. Good luck with your WL Steve.

    I have another friend on the Cornell WL as well and he is pretty much in the same position as you are… waiting indefinitely.

    I know this is easy to say but hang in there. Things have a funny way of working themselves out.

    Good luck and get well soon!

    RB

  3. […] a bit more quiet, but still had a number of experiences to share with their readers. Steve became increasingly frustrated with the Cornell waitilist process, but thought things might get better once Round 3 invites are sent out. A Beautiful Mind received […]

  4. Hey steve,

    That jaw incident sounds really scary. My jaw was hurting just by reading it! Hope you are fine now.

Leave a Reply

