The next step in my B-School App & Red Bull Reflections

I found it rather appropriate that this e-mail was in my inbox this morning…

Steven,

Thank you for your continued interest in the Johnson School at Cornell University. We encourage you to actively improve your application by engaging in self-assessment, addressing potential weaknesses, and highlighting your strengths.

When reviewing your application, you may consider our class profiles and the general suggestions below. As mentioned in your decision letter, we will review the wait list on a rolling basis with consideration for recent updates.

Potential Weaknesses Recommended Strategies for Improvements
GMAT or TOEFL score below the median Retake the exam and send an updated score report
Limited exposure to quantitative coursework or tasks / Low GMAT quantitative score (below 65%) Improve your GMAT quantitative score and/or quantitative coursework
Communication skills Join Toastmasters or a similar public speaking group
Planning a significant career transition without prior preparation Network with individuals in your desired industry and consider refining your goals
Limited career experience Demonstrate significant achievements and leadership successes by sending updates and/or obtaining an additional recommendation
Fit and commitment to Johnson Contact current students, faculty, staff, and/or alumni to learn about the Johnson School and how you could contribute

Provide an updated statement about why the Johnson School is the best MBA program for you

(Drats…I can’t seem to get the table to not cut-off. I suck at technology related things.)

We will only offer feedback sessions by invitation during the month of May. In the meantime, we encourage you to submit updates to Taissa Cox (tk75@cornell.edu).

We appreciate your commitment to the Johnson School and understand the variety of options you must consider at this time. We look forward to receiving updates from you.

Sincerely,

Randall T. Sawyer
Assistant Dean of Admissions, Financial Aid and Inclusion
The Johnson School at Cornell University
112 Sage Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853-6201

Email: rs348@cornell.edu
Phone: 607-255-4660
Toll Free: 800-847-2082 (US and Canada)
Fax: 607-255-0065

The Johnson School at Cornell University • Office of Admissions, Financial Aid and Inclusion
111 Sage Hall • Ithaca, NY 14853-6201 • Telephone: 607-255-4526 • Fax: 607-255-0065

I find it appropriate because this week I am starting my online course from UCLA. This is the first e-mail of any kind that I have received from Johnson since I was waitlisted and I think it put quite a few of my own, and other people’s, fears to rest. They are going to be doing feedback sessions in May, which seems like a long time, but since my wedding is coming up at the end of April, it seems really close for me. This course should be a good way for me to demonstrate that my early undergrad coursework was just due to a lack of maturity and that I am ready to tackle the rigors of Johnson.

One thing that I did get from this e-mail was the last bit. I never really thought to provide a statement about why the Johnson School is the best MBA program for me…so lookout for that one in the coming weeks (maybe days).

On a completely unrelated note…The Red Bulls took down the Chicago Fire on Saturday. It was frickin’ freezing outside, but that didn’t detract from the game’s atmosphere at all. The crowd was rocking, the ESC was chanting, and the stadium was beautiful! It truly was a magnificent start to the season, and I can’t wait to get back to Red Bull Arena on the 17th of April vs FC Dallas…it’s Seattle away next week, so here’s hoping we can pick up a point in the great northwest! Hope everyone had a great weekend!

5 Responses

  1. […] the full article: The next step in my B-School App & Red Bull Reflections AKPC_IDS += "7740,"; Share this […]

  2. Any updates on your application?

    Have you tried preparing for the GMAT again? I definitely recommend the Knewton GMAT course. You get your money back if you don’t improve your score by at least 50 points… it’s worth a try.

    http://knewton.com/gmat

  3. Aricarte,

    No updates yet…still just hanging out on the waitlist. I think I might take you up on that proposition…a guarantee of 50 points is incredibly generous. I think it is worth a try. Thanks for the heads up.

    Steve

  4. […] Steve received a letter from the Cornell Johnson admissions office with a few suggestions on how to improve his profile while remaining on the wait list. XLick reported slightly better Johson-specific news: he was accepted! Nistha expressed her […]

  5. Thanks for posting this. Being waitlisted at a few of my top choices—this definitely could easily spell out what I’ve been missing in terms of things. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

