Meet the new boss…same as the old boss?

So the winds of change are blowing here at work and I am not sure how to feel about it. On one hand it could be a great opportunity, but on the other it could end pretty badly for all involved. The head of our group left the firm in February and ever since then my boss has been angling for his job. He is qualified for it and I think he would do a great job, but the global head of our group doesn’t seem to agree.Although he did tell my boss that he would give him a shot. Well, it turns out that it was pretty much a farce because we received an e-mail yesterday  informing us that our new group head is coming over from Credit Suisse. My boss was not told about the move before hand and needless to say, he was less than pleased.

The one problem I had with the old group head was that he wanted to treat our job like that of a consultant. Believe me, risk management is a far cry from consultancy, so that never really worked. The group just spun its wheels for while until he left. In the time since we have accomplished quite a bit, but it seems to have fallen on deaf ears. While I was cyber-stalking my new boss on Linked-In, I noticed that he was a consultant and a project manager in his previous jobs….I really hope we aren’t going to get the exact same type of person to fill this role. He starts sometime in May, so I will provide some updates then.

There is also the apprehension that comes along with the hiring of a new manager. Will he like me? Will he hate me? Am I going to be fired? Will I like him? Will I pray nightly to be fired? It also doesn’t help with my B-School trek, getting a new manager who isn’t going to know my work or me as a person, if I should have to re-apply next year.

Hopefully I will get some great news from Cornell and I won’t have to worry about any of this! No matter what happens, it seems that the winds of change are a blowin’….hopefully they are going in the right direction.

3 Responses

  1. […] the full article: Meet the new boss…same as the old boss? AKPC_IDS += "7927,"; Share this […]

  2. […] worried about how a new boss without a familiarity with his work would impact any reapplication plans. XLick had two big trips to look forward to in the coming months: backpacking in China, and meeting […]

  3. […] worried about how a new boss without a familiarity with his work would impact any reapplication plans. XLick had two big trips to look forward to in the coming months: backpacking in China, and meeting […]

Leave a Reply

