My Application Plans

Since it doesn’t look like I am getting that call this year, my plans are turning to next year. The crazy part is that R1 apps are due in 6-7 weeks, depending on where you are applying. So I am going to have to cram essays, recs, and the GMAT into this time period. My list is going to be different from last year, as I will be applying to some schools that are slightly lower ranked than I did last year. My thought process on this is that I want/need to go to B-School this year and since my father has graciously stated that he would pay for a semester of tuition (doing the same for my brother as an MD), the return on investment calculation would still be in my favor if I didn’t land a $100k+ job after graduation.

I researched quite a bit about all these schools and they are certainly different in many ways, but each of them have a good finance department and have respectable finance placement stats. Below is a list of the schools I am applying to and the dates for each round.

Cornell – Oct. 5th

Yale SOM – Oct. 7th

Georgetown – Nov. 1st

USC – Nov. 1st.

Boston University – Nov. 1st.

Still Under Consideration:

Columbia – Oct 6th (ED), rolling until April after this initial deadline

Notre Dame – Nov 1st

One Response

  1. Steve, I just came across your post here and wanted to extend a big “GOOD LUCK” from the team at Accepted.com. Reapplying to b-school offers the benefit of experience — hopefully whatever “went wrong” last time can be fixed for this year’s application season.

    Our webiste offers a number of resources for MBA reapplicants — I hope you find these helpful:

    Take 2: How to Reapply Right to Business School (http://www.accepted.com/mba/reapplicant.aspx), a free webinar

    Create a Better Sequel: How to Reapply Right to Business School (http://www.accepted.com/Ecommerce/BetterSequel/MBAreapplicant.aspx), an instantly downloadable ebook

    Best of luck!

    Sarah Pritzker
    http://www.Accepted.com

Leave a Reply

