First 700, GMAT Scheduled, & Essays started

I know its only 10 points more than I scored on the actual GMAT, but 700 sounds soooo much better then 690 doesn’t it…I took a practice test on Saturday morning, around 8:30. When I clicked the final button on my Manhattan GMAT CAT I thought I had done reasonably well, but I didn’t think I would be hitting 700! I was really excited about this, as it seems that my hard work is paying off. My breakdown was as follows:

Quant: 45

Verbal: 40

Overall: 700

AWA: 6.0 (I think I deserved it….I am obviously kidding about this, there is no generated score for the AWAs)

I was happy with my performance in Verbal, as it was 4 points higher than what I scored on the real thing. I believe that confidence is a huge part of the GMAT and I had loads of it on Saturday. I prepared myself mentally before the test started by accepting that the test was going to be very hard, no matter how well I was doing. I think this helped me not get discouraged, keep my pacing, and ultimately score better on the test.

I was so excited about the result that I schedule my actual GMAT for October 2nd, which is the first Saturday of the month. It is scheduled for 8am in Lyndhurst, NJ (same place I took the previous 2, I am a creature of habit!). My goal from here on out is to try and consistently score in the 700 range, but not to get too discouraged if a 660 pops into the equation. Bad tests just happen, for whatever reason, they just happen sometimes, so believing that I can score 700+ shouldn’t

3 Responses

  1. Steve,

    I lost your email address. Can you send me a quick note?

    Thanks,
    John

  2. […] was pleased with his GMAT study progress and the latest score he had in a practice test. Ellipser felt pretty good about all aspects of his b-school application process, from studying for […]

  3. Nice blog! I hope i can get more your post everyday! Thanks …
    Useful site: http://www.gmatonlinetest.com . I think it can help u and everyone.

Leave a Reply

