MBAs getting creative – with their career paths

This article talks about how in this economy 80-85% of MIT Sloan students currently have a job. The problem with that statement is that many have had to re-think their career choices and choose a different line of work. The positive to come out of this crisis is that many are choosing to go into rewarding professions that they might never have considered during the days of fat bonuses and endless employment on Wall Street.

I love the markets, and Wall Street is my dream. I REALLY don’t want to do anything else, even if the pay isn’t what it once was. I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t find a job there. That is certainly something that I am going to have to think about before applying because the chances of having to drastically change careers is very real. What is your back-up plan? Have you given any thought to it, or just denied the possibility that you might need to change jobs?

Leave a comment